Five for Five: a fan’s reflection

Chris Ashley
GVLSoccer
Published in
5 min readMar 22, 2023
Photo by: Brittany Hildreth

We have reached that time of the year where we turn the page from winter to spring. And that can only mean one thing… it’s time to kickoff another season of Greenville Triumph soccer!

As the team gets set to kickoff their fifth season this Saturday, fans will be adjusting to several changes including new players, new members of the coaching staff, and even a new location for home matches. Big things are seemingly on the horizon for the franchise including a second chance for the proposed permanent stadium.

Before we kickoff year five, I wanted to take a chance to reflect on why this team has meant so much to me by sharing five reflections in honor of five years of Greenville Triumph SC.

5. 2019 Final

I’ll never forget my wife’s reaction when I told her on less than a week’s notice that I wanted to fly to Dallas, get a hotel room, and go to the final. It was my birthday weekend and I just had to go. She said, “I’m so glad you love something this much. I don’t get it, but I’m glad you have that.”

It was a whirlwind trip and things didn’t go quite as I would have hoped. But am I glad I went? Absolutely.

The Triumph weren’t supposed to get there, but they did. They weren’t supposed to be “in it” but they were. And they came awful close to pulling it out.

The good news is, they didn’t have to wait long to win one of those finals!

4. Team Announcement

I was just a lowly blogger at Soccer ‘N’ Sweet Tea and had been hosting Yeah, THAT Soccer Show for a few months when I was sent to cover the USL D3 announcement happening in Greenville. Greenville Pro Soccer was announced as the second team in this new start-up division 3 soccer league.

That moment started everything that has led us to this point, five years later.

Photo by: Brittany Hildreth

3. Five Players

Listen. Everyone has their favorite players. These are mine. You can disagree and that’s fine. These are just five that have captured my hear up to this point. DON’T @ ME!

  • Venton Evans — I love Venton. Last season he was not always a “locked in” starter, but he provided so many electric moments. Here’s hoping we see even more from him in 2023.
  • Alex Morrell — When Alex came to Greenville in year two, I knew he was going to fit right into what Coach Harkes wanted to do with the tactics. And he got going fast and really had a season in 2020 that may be one of the best individual seasons by any player in League One up to this point.
  • Lachlan McLean — I remember falling in love with Lachlan when he was simply “trialist” in the preseason of 2020. I mean, I designed a shirt for this man!
  • Dallas Jaye — Sweet Dallas Jaye. Not only was he an incredible keeper, he was a seemingly incredible dude. Always had a great attitude and great interaction with the fans and community.
  • Aaron Walker — Oh Captain, my Captain. Seriously the most underrated player in this league from day one! Aaron is constantly overlooked in league honors, but the Triumph would not be what they are without him. He is the heartbeat of the team. And I am always calling for an “Aaron Walker outside the box worldie” on the sidelines!
Photo by: Brittany Hildreth

2. 2020 Championship

I had just finished up an interview with Soccer Down Here previewing the 2020 USL League One final. I had talked about how the team had been dominant all season and how I felt like they were in a great position to with the title on their home field and how pumped I was to be there to watch it.

I hung up the call and then saw the announcement.

The final had been cancelled and the Triumph had been awarded the title.

At first I felt defeated. Saddened. And borderline upset. I wouldn’t get to watch this match that my adrenaline had already begun to churn over. I wouldn’t get to show off the beautiful 15'x15' tifo I had completed in my garage (see above). We wouldn’t get to celebrate together as fans with the team.

But eventually that frustration faded to joy. And what a cool experience it was to watch the team celebrate in the stadium with fans in a fun and creative way. And I got to hoist that tifo anyway!

Watching this team crowned as champions was the perfect salve for a year that was difficult and strange due to the global pandemic. But it stands out as the greatest “on the field” moment in this team’s history.

Photo by: Emmy Gaddy

1. “A gift to the community.”

I have heard Joe Erwin say on countless occasions that his goal for this team was for it to serve as “a gift to the community.” I think its fair to say that after five years, that has certainly been the case.

From the scholarship programs, to the camps and clinics, to seeing the players out in the community, the Triumph have become engrained into Greenville. There’s no better evidence of that than seeing the countless Triumph, and Liberty, magnets on cars as you drive around the upstate. And now, we have that beautiful storefront on main street.

My hope is that it doesn’t stop there. This team has meant so much to me in these past five years, and I want to see it continue to grow into the future. Perhaps, even in a stadium of their own…

--

--

Chris Ashley
GVLSoccer

Pastor. Podcaster. Blogger. YouTuber. Disney Dad.