It’s none stop for busy mom of 3

Gym Plan
Gym Plan
Published in
3 min readJan 10, 2018

An interview with Megan Bowman, a total badass inspiration that shows what can be done!

Tell us about you?

Hi! I am a mom of 3 beautiful children who lead very busy schedules! I have been a group exercise instructor for 10 years and recently became a certified personal trainer and a Livestrong at the Ymca trainer, which is a program that works with cancer survivors on regaining their well being. I started my love for exercise with triathlons and moved to Olympic lifting about 4 years ago. I just ran my second half marathon and while I enjoy the euphoria running gives me nothing beats throwing around some heavy weight in the weight room!

My family and I love to spend time outdoors whether it be camping, hiking, or playing soccer we love fresh air!

My favorite thing to do is to help and encourage people. I love seeing smiles on faces! I strive to make someone smile everyday!

How long have you been training and what got your started?

I have been using gym plan for close to a year. After taking a hiatus from serious lifting I needed a plan and help getting there. I love the programs that are offered on the app. I find them challenging and easy to stick to!

What’s your training goal?

I would say my main goal is to be the best I can be! I love being strong so strength training is very important to me. I have found in the last 6 months I am considerably stronger in my upper body than I ever was before thanks to the gym plan programs!

What do you struggle with most?

Cardio. While I enjoy a good run I struggle to get out the door or make time for it. I do use a lot of the interval workouts on the app for my cardio to keep my heart in tip top shape.

What success have you had with Gym Plan?

As mentioned above my upper body strength has increased immensely! I am constantly receiving compliments on my shoulders, back and arms.

I’ve also seen some gains in my lower body as well. After I completed the leg destruction program my jeans were definitely a little tighter in all the right places!

What advice would you give others who share your goals?

Keep at it! Hard work and focus is all it takes. Also give yourself time….set some short term goals to appease you on your way to the long term goal. And throw out your scale!

Tell us funny gym/training story?

Well there are many I’m sure but one thing that seems to happen to me constantly is miscalculating what’s on the barbell. I’m not sure why barbell math is so hard for me but there have been many times I have been lifting thinking I’m at one weight only to realize I’m wrong. There is a standing joke in our gym to not let me load the barbell because of how bad I am at it. Lol, oh well at least it’s usually heavier than I intended!

What’s next for you and your training?

This is a busy time for me so right now I’m using one of the programs that has full body 30min workouts 4x a week and it’s perfect. Once things slow down I want to concentrate on core definition and strength!

A big thank you to Megan from the team here at Gym Plan 🙌

--

--

Gym Plan
Gym Plan

Your own in-app personal trainer. Gym plans, one-to-one coaching and personalized nutrition. https://gymplanapp.com