Mom and fitness competitor has a change of focus for the better

Gym Plan
Gym Plan
Published in
3 min readJan 12, 2018

An interview with Karina Marais. Mom and former fitness competitor.

Tell us about you?

I’m a 38 year old mom from South Africa and working full time at a legal firm in the Conveyancing (property law) department.

How long have you been training and what got your started?

I’ve always been very active since school, but only joined a gym after school. Mainly just to stay active and be healthy. Then during 2016 someone convinced me to take part in a fitness competition.

What’s your training goal?

Well, after I competed in the fitness competition my health took a turn for the worst. I suffered from adrenal fatigue, metabolic damage etc. Due to these and other health issues, I lacked energy, drive and motivation to eat healthy and even exercise. After a very long healing process, I also realized that I had to start eating better and do some exercise to help my body and mind heal. Now my goal is to train for health and performance and not aesthetics.

What do you struggle with most?

Getting back to the mindset that training and eating healthy is about being healthy and strong, not about the way you look. Especially after competing in a fitness competing and with all the staged photo’s on social media.

What success have you had with Gym Plan?

I am so grateful that I found this app. It was at a time where I had to get myself to start training again. Gym Plan made it so easy to get back to loving exercise. I started with the easy 10 minute workouts, at home with no or limited equipment, until I was fit and strong enough again to exercise for at least 30 minutes 5–6 times a week.

What advice would you give others who share your goals?

Be persistent and consistent and you will reach your goals. Push yourself, but also learn to listen to your body. Train for health. The icing on the cake will be the way you look.

Tell us funny gym/training story?

My 14 year old son always go with me to the gym. The other day while training shoulders, there was this guy openly staring. I didn’t notice it, but my son did. After a while he walked over to this guy and said: “No, my mom is not using steroids, but thanks for asking”. (something he saw on a t-shirt). I don’t know who was more embarrassed, me or the guy who stared. My husband was real impressed though with our son.

What’s next for you and your training?

We as a family will be taking part in the modern biathlons this year (running and swimming).

A big thank you from the team here at Gym Plan Karina 🙌

You’ve really summed up the important aspect of training. Think long-term, healthy and strong. It serves everyone better than short-term aesthetic results that can cause unnecessary physical and mental strain. Kudos!

--

--

Gym Plan
Gym Plan

Your own in-app personal trainer. Gym plans, one-to-one coaching and personalized nutrition. https://gymplanapp.com