App Review: Charity Miles

GymNext
GymNext
Published in
2 min readAug 9, 2016

Run, walk, or bike to raise money for a specific charity. It’s not new in concept, but it’s completely new in execution. “Charity Miles” is an app that lets users who are about to get moving raise money for the charity of their choice.

The app itself is fluid and extremely user friendly. I wish there was a search function for the charities, but because there are a little less than 50 it seems fair at this point to let the user scroll through instead. I found myself really taking my time to select a charity that I wanted to raise money for, as well as educating myself on what the different charities were. This exposure to the work that lesser-known charities do is incredible, and I think that that service of the app alone makes it worthwhile downloading.

Once you select your charity, the app will track your time and distance. As well, you’ll see how much money you’ve personally raised, and how much users of the app have collectively raised.

I think the best part of this app is that it circumvents the traditional idea of event fundraising. It gives people control of when and where they want to fundraise, giving individuals and groups of people the opportunity to help 365 days a year.

Download the app for iOS or Android.

--

--