Functionally Fitnessing

Brendan Hughes
GymNext
Published in
2 min readAug 19, 2016

What a great week! I stayed on schedule with not only my fundamentals classes, but also my running — which means no embarrassing photo for you this time! I attended the fundamentals class last night and performed what seemed like an impossibly high number of back squats. Tim introduced me to a few stretches that helped me loosen up after the workout. This morning, I went for my run and surprisingly, I felt way better than I usually do.

I’m using muscles that I’ve never used before, so it’s interesting how it’s affecting the rest of my life. I mentioned briefly in my last blog how the workouts in CrossFit actually improve your “functional fitness” (another new word). You improve your fitness generally, so that you can get out and do the things you really want to. It’s exciting to see how even after a workout that left me exhausted, I was able to go out the morning after and perform better than I normally would have without the workout.

It’s all fitting together, which is relieving, since I was concerned I would have to make trade offs in my training. Feels like I’m getting in the groove of things… Marathon here I come!

I’m really pumped up about this functional fitness concept now, and I want to look into it a bit more. I’m picking up the movements as I go along, and I know it’ll take some time. I want to figure out what workouts I should be focussing on in CrossFit to best compliment my lifestyle. If you have any words of wisdom, or any other comments feel free to let me know on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, or just below. Otherwise, stay tuned!

You can learn more about GymNext here.

--

--