Rookie Hooky

Brendan Hughes
GymNext
Published in
2 min readAug 5, 2016

There are a lot of magic numbers out there given by experts to define how long it will take for a new habit to form: 21 days, 30 days, 2 months. If you ask me, it comes down to how determined you are to enforce the habit. It’s the whole “dedication is more important than motivation” idea.

I say this after missing 2 out of the first 4 fundamentals sessions.

Here’s the thing — I’m seriously motivated by my fitness goals (i.e. be a beast), and I know that CrossFit can help me get there, my issue lies in dedication — things keep getting in the way, and priorities change at the last minute. I think that when you try to start something new, you’re more lenient on yourself for slipping up because it hasn’t yet become an integral part of your routine. I have to get in front of myself and decide early on that the fundamentals classes are a new priority.

I forgot to set a weekly goal, so I’m setting a weekend goal: Plan next week around my classes. On Monday I’ll post what my weekly calendar looks like and then maybe I’ll also feel like the forces of the internet will keep me accountable.

I had some fun trying to make the chart spike.

That being said, I DID attend the fundamentals class last night. We started with another jog and then I learned how to row and do deadlifts. My air squat felt natural, something Tim tells me is indicative of it maturing. Woo! My first milestone! Must have been all that squatting in the woods I did over the weekend.

My employer being sympathetic.

I’m excited to sit down and fill in those three time slots that I know are solely dedicated to helping me achieve my fitness goals .I’m in no rush though, in fact, after last night I could do with a day off!

If you have any tips for me on how to better manage my fitness schedule, list them off below!

My next blog post will be on Monday! Follow us on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook for updates. Click here to learn more about GymNext!

--

--