The Pomodoro Technique-Ultimate Productivity Hack

avni vij
Habit Junkie
Published in
3 min readDec 22, 2020

--

Photo by Bonneval Sebastien on Unsplash

After almost 9 months of enforced work from home, my older time management and productivity tools had become rusty. I was experiencing a slump identified with a lack of energy, motivation, and having no sense of time. While I stuck to my routines more or less, I was not accomplishing a lot. My bullet journal pages were empty and I did not pick up my ukulele. I did stick through my gratitude journal but I missed many days. My workout routine was all over the place. I was overwhelmed, overworked, and simply exhausted.

I tried everything to get out of it- putting my to-do lists right in front of me where I can see them, setting alarms, and telling myself, let’s get on with it! Nothing seemed to work. I struggled and then I let go.

I accepted it was only normal for me to feel this way. We were still very much in the pandemic. And it is bound to affect me. It was okay to not be on top of things. Once I accepted this reality, slowly (and I mean it real slowly) I started finding my rhythm back. I got back to my 30 mins of workout and writing in my gratitude journal, I also picked up a book to read and took out time in the day to sit and just read. Yet, I was struggling with my work. I wasn’t on top of that. And then, a miracle happened! Something that turned this around.

A youtube playlist!

A youtube playlist with Pomodoro Study Sessions.

I have used the Pomodoro Technique in its more infant form- that is I didn't have a youtube playlist tracking my time!- while studying for college exams. It worked then and it definitely worked now.

If you are new to Pomodoro Technique, read below to find out what it is and how it can help you too- whether you are struggling to focus on your studies, your work, or on a project.

What is the Pomodoro Technique?

The Pomodoro Technique is a time management method developed by Francesco Cirillo in the late 1980s.

All you have to do is identify a task that you want to perform. Set a timer for 25 minutes, work till the timer is up, take a short 5-minute break and then start again. You do it 4 times and after 100 minutes are up, you take a longer 15–30 minute break.

I use two Pomodoro Techniques-

  1. 25 minute work time + 5-minute break
  2. 50 minute work time + 10-minute break (A variation thanks to the playlist)

Why does this work?

It is a really old productivity hack and the main reason it works it creates a sense of urgency. You must focus for 25 minutes and then you can take a break. Having a timer or music playing is a reminder that time is passing and you must act now!

When can you use it?

You can use it however you like but I would suggest ensuring you have a conducive work environment before applying this. For example, if it is 4:00 pm and you have a meeting at 4:20, it won’t help you to use this. On the other hand, if you have a large block of time with you to accomplish any task, this is a great technique to use!

Pomodoro has helped me segment my time into smaller blocks and focus for those 25 or 50 minutes. It enables me to get into a flow state and check off my tasks faster. (I even wrote this article with the Pomodoro playlist playing in the background.)

One thing you need to remember when it comes to any productivity tool or hack is, that you need to FIND what WORKS for you!

--

--

avni vij
Habit Junkie

Learning Experience Designer. Writer. Cat Mom. I write about productivity and habit formation and author a weekly newsletter for self-determined learners.