7 things makes me happy recently

Charlotte Bian
HabitClub
Published in
3 min readOct 4, 2021
Photo by Green Chameleon on Unsplash

Today, I have a simple task for myself.

Write down 7 things that makes me happy in the last 2 weeks and a brief reason behind it.

1. My new routine

Sun rise photo from my balcony

I adjust my routine to wake up 1 hour earlier has made me generally happy because I get to enjoy some peaceful morning moments for myself. Now I have more time to read, write and reflect before starting work.

2. 1st time speak about emotions and mental health topic with parents

Photo by Daniel Cheung on Unsplash

This week I had my 1st ever deep conversation with my parents as adult. We even touched the topics of mental health and dealing with emotions.

This makes me really happy, because since I came to Australia, my conversation with my parents have been remained on the surface level. With the time past, we both painfully realise the gap between us is wider than our physical distance. This conversation is a breakthrough for our relationship and really pull us closer again.

3. A good book recommendation from a colleague

A good book recommendation always make me happy! The book my colleague recommended me this week is Dalai Lama’s the art of happiness.

I am reading it before bed at the moment!

4. A ‘hearty’ coffee from my local coffee shop

Photo of my hearty coffee

Every morning, I would grab a coffee with my own cup in a local cafe. I was always in a rush, so I have never noticed, even with my own coffee cup with lid on, the owner of the shop would still draw a cute heart on the coffee. I accidentally realised it when I open the lid one day. The little heart on the coffee taste like a warm hug. :)

5. New layout of my place

Photo I found from unsplash that is close to my new layout

I shifted around my dinning table and bookshelf locations in the living room. Now I feel like I have a new home!

6. Podcast season 2 finally released

After months of hard work, the season 2 of my podcast finally published

This makes me happy not only because of the sense of accomplishment, but also because I am getting better on handling my own vulnerability in public.

7.Roast pork my partner make

Roast pork my partner made

During lockdown, my partner has picked up some new cooking skill. His 2 hours oven roast pork with home made apple sauces has been one of the most delicious food he made…

There are the 7 things make me really happy recently:

  1. My new routine
  2. First time speak about emotions and mental health topic with my parents
  3. A good book recommendation from a colleague
  4. A ‘hearty’ coffee from my local coffee shop
  5. New layout of my place
  6. Podcast season 2 finally released
  7. Roast pork my partner make

The reason I write this blog is because I want to remind myself, happiness came from simple things from life and my life is full of them.

Thanks for reading and have a happy day!:)

--

--

Charlotte Bian
HabitClub

👩🏻‍💻 Product Manager and Small Biz Owner. Love Books, Cats and Coffee 📚😻☕️