Bundler local paths

Edwin Maldonado
Hack And Play
Published in
1 min readSep 26, 2013

Hey there!

As a Rails developer sometimes you have to switch your Gemfile to load a gem from a local path (on your computer), I had this issue almost everyday and my boss (Kyle) sent me this link:

Which is awesome! I didn’t know about the bundle local options.

I’m writing this post in order to have a quick reference for the future, basically you can override the global value of local.XXX in this way:

To remove all the local configs:

bundle config --delete

And like the post from Ryan says:

bundle config local.spree ~/Projects/gems/spree

And then in your Gemfile:

gem ‘spree’, :github => ‘spree/spree’, :branch => ‘master’

More details from bundler.io:

Hope it helps…

--

--

Edwin Maldonado
Hack And Play

Computer science engineer, interested in software architecture, entrepreneurship, and espresso machines