Ruby development in the cloud? — Day 0

Edwin Maldonado
Hack And Play
Published in
1 min readNov 25, 2014

I’ve been inspired lately to move my development box to the cloud. As you might know, I’m a Ruby developer (by day) who loves his Core i7 Macbook pro Retina, yes, a lot of power!

Besides the fact I have a pretty robust laptop for my everyday tasks, I have been looking to move to a simple, minimalist, tiny little piece of hardware, something like the Chromebook 11.

How come?

Well, I realized that more of the 90% of my development tools fall into the SaaS category.

AWS, Github, Gmail, Slack and even Spotify :) just to mention a few tools.

I’m a command line type of guy, I love to work on my CLI everyday and have the feeling I’m controlling my development box, and I know if I switch to a Chromebook I won’t be able to do this (native). However there are some alternatives outside in the market as Cloud9.

Yesterday, I created my account with the Cloud9 guys, I’m still configuring my development environment, but so far so good!

Moving my dev environment to the Cloud is something that I want to do really bad, but I will do it slowly, even though I would like to buy my Chromebook right now and start commuting with a smallest and light computer.

I will keep you up to date with this process.

Cheers!

--

--

Edwin Maldonado
Hack And Play

Computer science engineer, interested in software architecture, entrepreneurship, and espresso machines