Coursera VS Gödel’s Incompleteness Theorems*

D.
hack darren
Published in
2 min readAug 4, 2017

For a long time, I got stuck on a Machine Learning module in Coursera, and then I gave up. Actually, it was just two problems where I couldn’t figure out the math.

And then someone pointed out something to me:

Hey, I’m a Product Manager. My job isn’t to do the math, it’s the {Data Scientist Guy}’s job. Actually, even he doesn’t do the math, he leaves it to the Academics and just uses one of the pre-made models.

I think I am well aware of my own abilities (limited), which leads me to want to know everything and being able to do everything, which is ultimately about gaining control. But, this also leads me to avoid things I don’t fully understand, which of course shuts off many avenues in life.

Which makes no sense. And leaves me with a Kindle full of books that I leave unread.

You know what? I’m going to try to be OK with having incomplete knowledge and not knowing everything 100%. And re-enroll in that course again. And stop reading books that may not be interesting after all.

*Footnote: If you read this far to figure out how Godel’s Incompleteness Theorems are, you may not be OK with not understanding everything, and may have missed the point of the blog. Wiki link below, but briefly; the first of Godel’s theorem shows that within a system of proofs and statements, not every true statements can be proven within the system. There will always be unprovable but true statements, and therefore, the system or logic will always be ‘incomplete’.

Wiki: Gödel’s incompleteness theorems

--

--

D.
hack darren

writing creativity improv teaching hacking self-improvement stoicism mindfulness critique eloquence faff: I am D, and views are my own.