Cohort Stories: Meet Abdiel

vol. 4, no. 1 — guest post by Abdiel Nazar Danastor

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 5, 2020

--

Since I was young, my dream was to become an engineer. I love science and I always do well in science related classes at school. After I graduated from high school back in my home country, my love for science (specifically math and physics) pushed me to go to university to be an electrical engineer. I was attending university back then in the capital of Haiti, Port-au-Prince. The instability there had me and my parents reconsider my choice to stay in Haiti for my study. I spent a year studying there then I moved into the United States in 2016.

While I was attending English school in the U.S, I’ve noticed the importance of technology in people’s everyday lives. I decided to learn about coding. I took a few online courses on programming languages like python, HTML and CSS, and when I finally got the chance to go to college here, I decided to be a Computer Engineer — where computer science meets with electrical engineering. I wanted to develop computer hardware and software. I chose this major because of my passion for electronics and today’s technology driven market. It has been a long journey so far.

I was the first in my family to come to the U.S, and on my own I had to learn the culture, the education system of the U.S, and also overcome immigration, economic, and language barriers. Yet, I still have a long way to go, my goal is to become a software engineer after I graduate and this is where Hack.Diversity comes in.

What excites me most about Hack.Diversity is the fact that I will learn and gain the experience and both the professional and technical skills needed to have my dream job. I’m very confident and I know that I will learn a lot from the mentors that will be available for me and the de.Hackathon project that I will take part in during the summer. I look forward to using my time in Hack.Diversity to strengthen my skills and learn new skills for a successful career as a Software Engineer.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.