Cohort Stories: Meet Admas

vol. 4, no. 3 — guest post by Admas Kebede

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
3 min readFeb 5, 2020

--

Admas Kebede, computer science student at Bunker Hill Community College & 2020 Fellow

As a young kid in Ethiopia, trying to make something out of life was not only the priority but was required for survival. As I grew older, I started to realize that most of our community was living and facing a lot of problems ranging from seeking uninterrupted electricity and water to the need for quality Medical treatment. Knowing all these difficulties, but not being able to do anything about it was painful.

I had the opportunity to get an education and that was when I had the exposure to what technology is and all that was included in that. I knew then that the technology world had answers to the majority of the problems we were facing. It took a lot of hard work and effort to create the character of who I am now.

I owe my family, community and the environment I lived in a great deal of respect. They taught me how to challenge myself when the resources were scarce, how to manage my time wisely to achieve what the earth was providing. All this encouragement made me focus on my goals and strive for more change and more improvement in my life. As life’s journey goes, problems were inevitable. Problems are one of my best motivators. Growing in a place where the word problem is used often, I can share all the hardship and suffering in these developing countries. The problems are perpetual, and getting the chance to be part of the solution is challenging, but having the chance to change a few people’s life is a very rewarding thing.

The difficulty of the situations can be discouraging, but with the support system and by motivating myself, I believe that someday I will be able to take part in creating solutions.

Technology is here to make people’s lives simpler and more efficient. In addition, it provides more platforms to make more room for improvement so that people can live happy lives. With these advancements in place, what tomorrow’s technology holds excites me the most. With the advancement of materials and new techniques, new products are being made every single day to help people. As a student, getting an opportunity to implement what I have learned in class is crucial in transforming my knowledge into practice. I have amazing professors who always encourage me to go out there and chase my dream. I have taken their advice and believe Hack.Diversity will become the medium for me to accelerate my growth. I definitely will be able to develop strong skills with this fascinating program. My ultimate goal would be to see a happy and successful nation. To bring equality and unity using the power of technology, to simplify people’s lives, to break barriers and give people equal opportunity so that they can make the best from what life has to offer.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.