Cohort Stories: Meet Alejandrina

vol. 5, no. 6 — guest post by Alejandrina Percel

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readJan 20, 2021

--

Alejandrina Percel, business intelligence student at UMass Boston & 2021 Fellow

The biggest challenge for me has been figuring out who and what I want to become. I began college with an undeclared major. I tried business and computer science, but I didn’t feel the passion for either fields. This led to feeling unmotivated and lost. Organization is crucial to me and not having a plan in motion was truly a burden.

Growing up in a Spanish speaking household created a few extra responsibilities for me. Those responsibilities included translation and helping others with modern technology. This is where my interest for technology began. I was always being asked to show individuals how to use a computer, cell phone, or many other tasks that involved the use of technology.

I am excited to join Hack.Diversity because I feel that this will help me complete my vision for my future.

As I mentioned before it took me a while to find my path, and although I am not completely sure of what I want to do with my degree, I feel that each day I am getting to closer to finding out my goal and achieving it. I work hard each day to ensure that I will be in a position that will enrich my knowledge and fulfill my life goals.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.