Cohort Stories: Meet Alfredo

vol. 6, no. 9 — guest by Alfredo Alvarez Perez

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readJan 31, 2022

--

Alfredo Alvarez, computer science student at UMass Boston & 2022 Fellow

I moved from Venezuela 6 years ago and had to learn English very quickly. I had very good teachers, and in a couple of years, I was already comfortably fluent.

Now that I am about to graduate from college, I can safely say that I am most proud of all I have accomplished since I moved to the United States.

Everything from learning English and joining the National Honor Society, to being accepted to the University of Massachusetts Boston.

I began getting involved with Computer Science related things back when I used to play Call of Duty on the PS3 when I was Hi thirteen. I met a friend online that would develop tools to modify and make custom content for the game. Back then, I thought this was the coolest thing somebody could do in a game, as very few people were able to do this. He taught me things he knew and I started learning about programming languages and ended up helping him develop these tools. Eventually, I started getting into building desktops because my old laptop was finally giving out. I ended up building my first PC and slowly started building and selling them online.

Learning new things motivates me. I’m very ambitious and like to become better at things I enjoy doing. Particularly I like music and learning things to play on the piano or the guitar. I usually hang out with some friends, and we jam together. What I enjoy the most is seeing my friends at school and doing things with them. I’m very excited to graduate and see what kind of opportunities I can get, and where that takes me.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.