Cohort Stories: Meet Bruno

vol. 4, no. 9 — guest post by Bruno Koppel

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 5, 2020

--

Bruno Koppel, computer science student at Bunker Hill Community College & 2020 Fellow

Though I was born in Cuba, a country with old and slowly advancing technology, I became interested in technology when as a little kid and first opened a TV remote control, witnessing a circuit board. Since then I’ve seen more circuit boards, and at the age of 5 my brother got a PC. When he was 7, my brother left Cuba and I was left with the PC. I learned how to take care of both the hardware, by taking apart the pieces and cleaning them, and the software, when an electrician who also lived in my same building would come over to fix my computer.

By the age of 13, I left Cuba to go to Mexico and I began to study C language at school. I also attended competitions for 4 years straight, culminating in a first-place finish at State level in Puebla, a state that is home to 6 million people.

At age 18, I left Mexico and rejoined with my brother in the United States. Here, I got back into my hobby of music production. Learning music taught me how to teach myself to learn. I became a self-taught individual and eventually re-enrolled at Bunker Hill Community College. One day while on campus I met Antonio Taborda, a Hack.Diversity fellow from 2019. I applied, and here I am. I’m very motivated by the people of the Renaissance. I like to learn and know about everything that questions my understanding of our planet. I’m excited about the innovations, specifically in the robotics industry. I’m pretty confident that we can start using robots to help the environment by sorting recycling trash or cleaning the seas, oceans, among other tasks.

My dream job would be to create a robotics company that supervises robots that go around the country picking up trash and cleaning the ocean. I would love to have a job where I code and fix machines all day long while working to save the environment.

I envision myself learning tips on how to interview with companies and learning about the values and cultures of each company part of the Hack.Diversity movement, as well as working with other Fellows to solve problems in groups. Hack Diversity provides the best training experience for my goals that I could have asked for.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.