Cohort Stories: Meet Cassio

vol. 3, no. 35 — guest post by Cassio Ferreira

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readMar 14, 2019

--

Cassio Ferreira, finance major at University of Massachusetts Boston & 2019 Fellow

In general, individuals have a certain level of interest in technology. Even if one doesn’t like it, one has to appreciate the details and the compartmentalization that goes into making a piece of technology accessible to anyone. I first became interested in technology in High School in a computer information class. One of our in-class assignments was breaking down and re-assembling a computer tower. For me, it was fascinating to learn how all the components came together and how much a compact piece of technology can accomplish.

I first learned about Hack.Diversity when I was a student at Bunker Hill Community College. Studying finance, I was reluctant to apply to join the Hack.Diversity team since I have a limited background in tech. Once I transferred to UMass Boston I couldn’t let the fear of doubt stop me from applying, and have the opportunity to be a part of something impactful.
Self-doubt was a legitimate challenge that I needed to not only overcome but identify.

Believing that experts in the tech industry had to overcome their doubts and fears at some point in their careers, made me realize that it does take looking in the mirror and accepting the fact that we should consider ourselves ‘learn-it-alls’ and not ‘know-it-alls’.

This gave me the incentive to pursue this opportunity and believe in myself. Education is something that is very important to me and it is what motivates me. I appreciate being able to apply what I’ve learned as I go about my day. This motivates me to push forward with my responsibilities as new challenges bring new learning experiences and opportunities. What excites me most is how technology is changing the stage of education. I believe it is more of a paradigm shift than innovation in thinking, and that is something I am pleased to be a part of. People are able to earn degrees and certifications through learning platforms with online classes taught by renowned professors at low to no cost. It’s an opportunity to gain new skills and advance in their career without the financial burden of tuition.

I envision my time at Hack.Diversity to be challenging and fulfilling at the same time. I look forward to working with a skilled and diverse group of people that are eager to learn and develop talent and working for an organizational where, through technology and diversity, individuals are empowered to achieve a higher level of knowledge and education. Being part of Hack.Diversity will help grow my technical skills where I can apply in my career.

Inspired to join the movement?

Consider mentoring Hack.Diversity 2019.

Support, Website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.