Cohort Stories: Meet Chad

vol. 3, no. 22 — guest post by Chad Hussey

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readMar 8, 2019

--

Chad Hussey, computer engineering technology major at Benjamin Franklin Institute of Technology & 2019 Fellow

I started becoming interested in technology when I entered my first year of high school. My family only had one computer which could only run the necessities like web browser, Microsoft applications etc. Since I was a huge gamer, I would buy games on the computer but the computer couldn’t run most of the games. So I decided to build my own, having the ability to purchase my own components and plugging them into my desktop case was what piqued my interest. I wanted to learn how each piece played a part in the computer, and how they were able to be compatible in order to enhance a computer.

After deciding my path of becoming a computer engineer, I entered my first year of college at Wentworth Institute of Technology, where I spent my first year and a half. It was an extremely rough transition where I had a hard time handling my class, eventually dropping out and spending a year re-evaluating if this was the path I wanted to take. If it wasn’t for the support of my family, I probably wouldn’t have had the courage to try and pursue my education again. I ended up taking class at Benjamin Franklin, where I drastically improved in my academics. Even though it’s a two-year school, I’m heading back on my path of getting my Bachelor’s in Computer Engineering one step at a time.

What excites me the most about the innovation industry is the way technology keeps developing, like how the world is slowly shifting its way from fossil fuel cars to electronic ones, and how some companies are going beyond even that and working on self-driving vehicles.

My dream job is to feel like I can spend my years working at a company I feel I can retire at without having to worry about jumping from job to job. I envision Hack.Diversity giving me the chance to help me improve my coding skills, and giving me the opportunity to use what I learned into the workforce, even without getting a full-time job. I know the skills I have learned will benefit me in going back to finish my next two years of college.

Inspired to join the movement?

Consider mentoring Hack.Diversity 2019.

Support, Website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.