Cohort Stories: Meet Christopher A.

Boston: vol. 8, no. 15— guest post by Christopher Alphonse

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readJan 31, 2024

--

Christopher Alphonse looks at camera.
Christopher Alphonse, 2024 Hack.Diversity Fellow

I have been fascinated by technology since I was eight years old. Growing up in Haiti where “hands-on” experiences were the norm, it all began with dismantling and reassembling computers. Through a blend of trial and error and educational online videos, I acquired invaluable knowledge. The “hands-on” approach along with my access to computers and gaming systems intensified my curiosity about the complex inner workings of technology.

Reflecting on my journey from those humble beginnings to where I am now.

I still remember my first HTML line in 2021, it was like magic. All of a sudden everything started making sense, it felt like a scene in a hero movie.

While I’ve built websites using platforms like Shopify, comprehending the inner workings of services and microservices was an entirely new experience for me. I’m convinced that with each passing day, I will witness continuous progress and reach my self-imposed milestones. After dropping out of school in 2015 due to uncertainty, I re-enrolled with a renewed sense of purpose, pursuing all that I desired.

Despite facing numerous rejections, I refused to give up. Leveraging my LinkedIn network, I sought out software engineers who had undergone coding boot camps like Coding Dojo, Western Governors’ University, or Massasoit Community College, seeking advice. Employing complex search strategies on Google and LinkedIn, I connected with individuals who shared my vision for the future. Finally, after a recommendation and subsequent screening by a connection who had followed a similar process, I secured a referral. The fact that two people endorsed both my technical abilities and soft talents was extremely rewarding. This led to the excitement of receiving the first of many anticipated offer letters.

The finish line is approaching, and tomorrow holds the key to the future. I am determined to learn and accept failure as part of my growth process.

My recent reads have focused on Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) in class, and I can confidently say it has matured me. I am no longer my old self; I’m a brand-new person, unshaken and slowly building the blueprint for my success. I’ve been applying these abilities in my daily life and experiencing tangible progress. With the abundance of materials provided by Hack.Diversity, I am determined to become the best version of myself.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.