Cohort Stories: Meet Christine

vol. 5, no. 17 — guest post by Christine Brown

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

--

Christine Brown, web development student and Hack 2021 Fellow

In a few months, I look forward to beginning my professional career in the technology field. Hack.Diversity is the bridge that I need to transition from my studies at Bunker Hill Community College and into the professional world of computer technology. I am proud of, and thankful for, the opportunity that Hack.Diversity is giving me. I am an aspiring full-stack web developer. I started my technical journey two years ago when I enthusiastically enrolled in an intense programming bootcamp at the Urban League of Eastern Massachusetts. Before the bootcamp, my working background consisted of fast food and retail associate roles. I knew while working these positions there was not much opportunity for advancement. I had started a family and I needed something better for my child and me. I needed to build a legacy.

In the beginning, I had little experience with computers. However, I wanted to improve my skill set. I knew in my heart that computers are the future; an industry that will keep growing, and will never deplete of jobs any time soon. At that time, word processing and browsing the internet were the only two processes familiar to me. Quickly, I chose to make learning web development my life. Learning programming concepts and implementing these things enthralled me very much.

I wanted to succeed in being able to create a functional web application from scratch. I knew this would create so much opportunity.

I could start my own online business, freelance, or work for a company. Every day I would code because it was important to me. I look forward to completing my associate’s degree while working with Hack Diversity. I am very excited and I cannot wait to find out what Hack.Diversity has planned for the 2021 Cohort.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.