Cohort Stories: Meet Fikir

vol. 4, no. 27 — guest post by Fikir Yilma

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 5, 2020

--

Fikir Yilma, information technology student at UMass Boston & 2020 Fellow

I got interested in technology when I was 14 years old. I was introduced by playing computer games at a school in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. It was also there where I discovered the internet and that I could download games I liked. As I grew older, my fascination grew with me, and led me to teach myself how to code. I wanted to learn the language of computers. The first language I taught myself was C ++ followed by Python and java. I’m aspiring to become a business intelligence analyst, and I am grateful for the opportunity to work with Hack.Diversity.

By joining Hack.Diversity, I will gain valuable skills I need to get into a professional work environment. I have been working as a driver for seven years consecutively. To move into technology, I need to know the current and best way to interview for jobs and also navigate the workplace environment after getting the job. Hack.Diversity will help me get into top technology companies in Boston through which I will be able to develop my career. I find the innovation industry exciting because it is always trying to solve a problem or make our lives easier. As an aspiring business intelligence analyst, I will help companies or departments to make a business decision to modernize and improve processes in the organization. I believe that my time at Hack.Diversity will help me get the experience and knowledge to get my dream job.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.