Cohort Stories: Meet Flampeyeiry

vol. 3, no. 23 — guest post by Flampeyeiry Diaz Montero

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readMar 8, 2019

--

Flampeyeiry Diaz Montero, computer science major at Bunker Hill Community College & 2019 Fellow

Ever since I was a child, I always dreamed about being a game developer. I was inspired by video games for PC, GBA, ATARI, and SNES. All the time I wanted to learn how to make a game and imitate games, such as Zelda, for instance. In the process, I got to know and practice with some programs to make games like Unity3D, Blender and RPG Maker 2003. I then went to a technical high school where I specialized in IT and learned how to code, in addition to a variety of other things, including the developing of systems for businesses and applications for general users.

After graduating from high school I faced some challenges, such as leaving my home country and learning another language. I had to move to the United States to go after bigger opportunities that would help me achieve my goals. Learning the language, English specifically, at first was a struggle for me but I had to learn it in order for me to be able to interact and engage with people, but more importantly so that I’m able to have professional relationships with those I would work with. I consider it important to highlight the fact that after high school, I got the opportunity to finally present a video game in an event called OtakuXMass with a team Alpha Eve, and for our fortune, the people tried it on, and they liked it.

All in all, I am truly excited about Hack.Diversity because it gives me the opportunity to keep growing as a programmer. It also allows me to prove to myself and others that my background and the challenges that I have faced don’t define me, but instead give me the confidence and courage to do something new and talk with people.

My motivation as a developer is to make an idea by putting myself in other people’s shoes, so I can create the game, or whatever it is that they need.

Then, I’ll be able to create games and applications that will satisfy the needs of my users. This way my app would be more accepted by my user targets. At Hack.Diversity, other than getting experience and meeting new people interested in work as a team to make new software, I see myself bringing out a new era of perfection and improvement in the user experience, focusing on quality more than quantity, offering to the user better and more useful apps.

Inspired to join the movement?

Consider mentoring Hack.Diversity 2019.

Support, Website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.