Cohort Stories: Meet Haja-Khadija

vol. 5, no. 44 — guest post by Haja-Khadija Savage

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

--

Haja-Khadija Savage, Masters in cybersecurity student at Northeastern University & 2021 Fellow

They say diamonds are made out of pressure but never forget they are not formed overnight. This expression applies to my personality and my ethnicity. Each diamond has a unique touch, and this is why it impacts everyone very differently. The natural export of Sierra Leone are diamonds, and as a Muslim woman of Sierra Leonean descent, I must make a difference in this world. I’m proud of my ability to persevere even when things hit rock bottom. There have been many times where I’ve been told “ I am not good enough” and that “I should pursue something else”, however, I cannot quit without putting up a good fight. No matter how harsh the remarks I have heard thus far, I refuse to allow it to change my character. My faith plays a huge role in my drive and determination and contributes a lot to the love and respect I have for those around me. Most importantly, the part of my background that I am the proudest of is the fact that it is mine.

There isn’t a carbon copy of my life, experiences, wins and losses — these experiences combined have helped me become the woman I am today, and I am incredibly proud of that.

For me, success consists of my enthusiasm for developing new skill sets, no matter what obstacle lies ahead. The steps to help me achieve success include: thoroughly researching the companies I’m interested in, understanding how they reward success and provide employees with the opportunity to grow. I thrive in environments that allow me to learn and contribute to the overall goal. There is no “I” in team; therefore, success is defined by the team’s quality. Having a successful group dynamic ensures that everyone on the team is working towards their personal goals and collective goals. This is what excites me the most about being part of Hack Diversity. As someone who enjoys new challenges, I will look and feel more successful, knowing that I am in an environment that fosters growth. I am always on a quest for more knowledge; and if someone can feel inspired by my tech journey and feel motivated to pursue a tech career, then what it means to succeed in the tech industry is accomplished.

I’m motivated by meeting goals within deadlines because it directly represents discipline and provides me with a sense of accomplishment. There’s no better feeling than completing a goal and being able to look back and proudly say, “I accomplished that.” Understanding that there’s no turning back from this point is also a motivating factor. Additionally, many people have immigrated to the United States to find opportunities to better themselves. These two factors give me the motivation and perseverance to excel. Meeting goals with deadlines provide me with tangible results of the hard work and effort I have put forth to get one step closer to a larger purpose.

As I continue to break barriers, my family can see that their actions did not go in vain. My experience with Hack.Diversity is an opportunity to pay it forward — my story can inspire other women of color to do the same.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.