Cohort Stories: Meet Jarae

NYC: vol. 2, no. 5 — guest post by Jarae Braggs

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 11, 2024

--

Jarae Braggs, 2024 Hack.Diversity Fellow

In ninth grade, my journey into the world of technology began with messing around with my school’s Chrome books. I found out that if you double-tap on the trackpad and click inspect, it reveals HTML and CSS. My curiosity grew as I learned to change the contents of the page by editing the code. From then on I knew I wanted to explore the world of coding, I wanted to know how technology worked. As someone who used technology every day, not knowing where it came from and how it was made bugged me (get it). So in 10th and 11th grade, I took computer programming classes. However, coding was not what it seemed to me at first. It was challenging and I couldn’t wrap my head around it. I almost gave up on programming until I decided to give it another shot at it when I joined The Marcy Lab school.

My excitement for programming was reignited as I learned and collaborated with other fellows on interesting projects. Moreover, I understood why programming is so imperative to the world we live in. I will always be grateful to Marcy for providing me with a unique learning experience. After honing my coding skills by doing full-stack projects and practicing leet code, I joined another boot camp called Opportunities for a Better Tomorrow where I gained certifications in AWS cloud computing and CompTIA IT fundamentals. At OBT I was introduced to the world of IT and cloud computing, this opened a whole new branch of technology to me and I am hungry to learn more. Recently, I finished a 4 month long full stack engineering internship at Kino Live. During this internship, it was thrilling to be able to use my skills to contribute to the company’s success.

Now I am ready to further develop my career in tech by joining Hack Diversity. Joining Hack Diversity is more than a career move; it shows my passion for problem-solving and my eagerness to contribute to an industry set to grow exponentially.

I aim to be a leader in the tech industry, I am driven by the prospect of generational wealth and a commitment to claim a stake in the future through technology.

This journey is about building connections, maintaining a growth mindset, and ultimately, getting an internship.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.