Cohort Stories: Meet Johnson

vol. 5, no. 48 — guest post by Johnson Ngandjui

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readJan 21, 2021

--

Johnson Ngandjui, computer science student at Salem State College & 2021 Fellow

Coming from a third world country, I have always viewed the world differently. I have gotten firsthand experience at what can possibly be the worst living conditions to being here and taking my bed for granted. Looking back at my past I can truly say I was happy. Although conditions were tough, there are so many things to embrace, from our music, food, culture, all the way to the people. Coming to America I realize I was not fully “living”. There is so much advancement I had no clue about; from escalators to a simple water fountain.

These small technologies we take for granted are the foundation to something bigger; and as soon I stepped foot on the stairs of the future, I knew I wanted to be a part of it.

The idea of being able to work on software that enables me to share my ideas on a global scale and being physically able create things and conduct analysis that could help millions of people, and get young students excited regarding careers in computer science excites me. Learning has always been my passion, as I became deeply engaged in a new activity it exposed me to new knowledge, forced me to read, start projects, set goals, and ask for help when I got stuck. I have always had a passion for numbers; data analytics and machine learning hold a solid place in heart. The ability to almost predict the future by using the past has always fascinated me. I look forward to being able grasp my passion and make it my dream. Working on a field conducting, research with real life data gives me goosebumps.

Every person nurtures an innate desire to look good and feel “accepted” in the socio-economic circle. The word technology instantaneously brings to mind purpose and a dash of personal content. Tech has become synonymous with my identity and overall growth. I have craved the ambition to shine, I was tired of being in darkness of being unable to simply troubleshoot my computer. I am motivated by the ability to see myself grow and pushing through despite the imaginary line we call limits.

Hopelessness is something no one should feel, I want create things/ideas and conduct analysis that could help millions of people, and get young students excited regarding careers in computer science.

This hunger to help people and ambition pushes me because not only would I have led my friends and family down, but I would have let myself down too. You ask me what motivates me the most: my fear of failure.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.