Cohort Stories: Meet Kareem

vol. 5, no. 50 — guest post by Kareem Walls-Sanders

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

--

While on lunch break at Whole Foods, mid-way through 2017, I would often spend my 30-minute break on the break room computer to complete as much homework as possible. This strategy allowed me stay ahead of my workload. However, during a particular week, I keep accidentally hitting the f12 key, and the inspector log would pop open. After the 3rd time, I begin to curiously look at all of the gibberish characters/code in the inspector log. As I hovered over parts of the website, I noticed that different code would highlight according to the different places I hovered over throughout the website.

That day, I realized that I could read code, and that’s where my journey begins at as a digital design engineer.

Since then, I have learned graphic design, UI design, and how to code to assist me along my journey of breaking into the innovation & tech industry.

The most exciting part about the innovation & tech industry is how transformative it can be for an individual’s life. With just an idea and execution, along with the use of technology & perseverance, that individual can change the trajectory of their life for the better in the matter of months, which looks like magic to me.

As I continue along my tech journey, success is finally within reach. My future success in the tech industry will not look so pleasant at first. It may consist of accidentally hitting an f12 key or other keys that are unknown to me; but with hard work, patience, and perseverance the end product of my success will be a pleasant sight to see.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.