Cohort Stories: Meet Kehinde

vol. 3, no. 28 — guest post by Kehinde Adelabu

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readMar 8, 2019

--

Kehinde Adelabu, information technology major at Bentley University & 2019 Fellow

I have always been a technology enthusiast ever since I was little. I use to save up my lunch money to buy electronic toys, like remote control toy cars, walkie talkie, and so on. I was always curious as to how those toys work and who made them. I started to reverse engineer my toy cars by dismantling its components and unconsciously began to learn what each component does and how its made. I started to use parts from other toys to fix my broken toys; all of these were fun times in my childhood. As I grew older, I found myself studying business and accounting in high school and at my two year college, which I liked but I felt something was missing.

When I started my four year college, I switched my career and started studying mathematics and computer science. I wanted to study computer engineering, but my school did not offer that course so I chose maths and CS because it is the closest major to computer engineering. I started getting exposed to how to make a software that give functionalities to hardware. It was difficult for me to understand some of the concepts in computer science because my academic background was in business and accounting. I was not the best student in my maths and science classes, but I was very good when it came to business subjects.

Determination and the hard work I put in helped me succeed in my new field.

I also had some of the best teachers, and they were there to help whenever I needed it. I would stop by their office to get a better understanding of topics that were unclear to me in class.

One of the things that excites me about the innovation industry is how they are always coming up with new innovative ways of doing things that make life easier for everyone. Specifically, what motivates me to strive to be a part of the industry is my passion for technology and innovation. I am very excited about Hack.Diversity because I believe that it is a pipeline that will help me land my dream job. My dream job is any job in which I can utilize technology in solving problems and contributing to the society positively.

Inspired to join the movement?

Consider mentoring Hack.Diversity 2019.

Support, Website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.