Cohort Stories: Meet Kevin G.

Boston: vol. 8, no. 51 — guest post by Kevin Gonzales

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 6, 2024

--

Kevin Gonzales smiles at the camera.
Kevin Gonzales, 2024 Hack.Diversity Fellow

Being a young Hispanic person and the son of immigrants, I believe that this is core to my identity and has come to define me in my journey toward becoming a software engineer.

I realize that the tech industry has a certain image of what a software engineer looks like, and I feel proud of being someone who differs from that image but has the ambition to rise above these preconceived notions and succeed as a young professional in one of the most important sectors in the global economy.

I started becoming interested in the tech field in my senior year of high school, where I was exposed to programming in my AP computer science course, where I got a basic understanding of algorithms and concepts like abstraction. I began to take an interest in content related to technology, and would frequently consume videos and articles on the latest developments about up-and-coming tech startups as well as advances taking place in computing.

What motivates me is my goal of being a software engineer who writes code that affects thousands of people, and working in a company where I will be able to contribute as a productive and proactive team member, and where my contributions will help make the lives of those utilizing the software produced easier.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.