Cohort Stories: Meet Marivella

vol. 5, no. 56 — guest post by Marivella Blann

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

--

Marivella Blann, computer science student at Saint Anselm college & 2021 Fellow

When I was 4 years old, my mom would visit a rich man who would buy my 2 sisters and I pizza. Soon after, he and my mom got married and he is now my dad. Just to clarify, that man is not rich, and I could not be more grateful. I was raised by my beloved mother and my dad who became a father overnight to 3 young girls along with his own son. Growing up, I was always told that I could be whatever I wanted to be no matter what anyone said. I was lectured on how life would be harder for me because not only am I a woman, but I am a woman of color. I also heard the phrase “you’re always a student in life” religiously in my house. I did not really process that, but as I grew older, it all became clearer. I would not wish to have grown up any other way because that would cost me my future.

I am constantly reflecting, analyzing, criticizing, and praising what I did the day before. How could I do better? How could I be better? If I continue this path where will it get me? But more importantly: I did that today. Let’s do that again tomorrow but better.

The idea of creating a life for myself with endless opportunities is what motivates me every day. The world is in my hands and I could make it whatever I want it to be. Isn’t that crazy? Although it does not feel like that every day, I know that with my work ethic and my morals, it is achievable. The same idea applies to technology. The possibilities are endless, and with my wandering mind, I am forever intrigued with problem solving and figuring out how things work. I went through high school with the idea that I would go to college for engineering. Summer of 2016 I participated in the Girls Who Code Summer Immersion Program which is where I learned about Computer Science and a variety of different computer languages for the first time. My mind flooded with an endless number of questions and surprisingly, Saint Anselm College was the only school, out of 10 others, that I applied to as a Computer Science major and that was because they did not offer a four-year engineering program. I decided to go to Saint Anselm College because they offered the best financial aid and that was the most important factor when deciding on a college for me.

Coming from Austin, Texas to a place where people consider Chipotle to be Mexican food was a huge cultural shock and adjustment for me. Thankfully, I had a wonderful support system in transitioning to college as a first-generation college student. Being a first-generation college student comes with a few challenges like yay I got through college, now what? I do not have any relatives or know people in the tech industry that I can ask specific questions to about furthering my future. That is why Hack.Diversity is so great. Girls Who Code introduced me to Computer Science, I got through college and now I believe Hack.Diversity can further educate and support me in continuing my future in technology. I am excited to see what possibilities Hack.Diversity brings me, and I cannot wait to celebrate those possibilities and successes with my loved ones and those who support me. I also cannot wait to meet others in the program and celebrate their successes!

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.