Cohort Stories: Meet Mohamed

vol. 3, no. 45 — guest post by Mohamed Barre

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readMar 28, 2019

--

Mohamed Barre, computer science major at Quincy College & 2019 Fellow

My name is Mohamed Barre and my journey through technology has been a long one. I started getting introduced to computers at my father’s halal meat store. It was there I discovered the internet, and I remember practicing my typing with Mavis Beacon. My first run in with code was probably when I discovered Myspace and used HTML. I copied and pasted HTML codes for layouts, designs, players, etc. to make my MySpace profile look the best.

I’ve always embraced technology, and even when I ran into problems I never gave up looking for the solution. Today I’m a sophomore at Quincy College working towards an Associate’s Degree in Computer Science with a concentration in Programming. My goal is to be a software developer who creates meaningful software that can improve the quality of life for others. I have various interests in the world of programming, from augmented reality to cryptocurrency, and I have a hunger to attain knowledge. Hack.Diversity is an opportunity that I am looking forward to taking advantage of and contributing to. I am looking forward to connecting and networking with others. It’s a program that providing underrepresented people like myself and others an opportunity to step into the innovation economy.

Inspired to join the movement?

Consider mentoring Hack.Diversity 2019.

Support, Website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.