Cohort Stories: Meet Nawfal

vol. 2, no. 14 — guest post by Nawfal Cherkaoui

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readApr 10, 2018

--

Nawfal Cherkaoui, computer science major at University of Massachusetts Boston & 2018 Fellow

Growing up in Morocco, without access to a lot of resources, has pushed me to develop a technology savvy mindset. In 2012, my family and I immigrated to the United Stated where I encountered many technological developments. My mind was puzzled by these innovations so I started developing interest in it as the years went by. My main motivation is my family.

Coming from a low-income household and growing up with a single mom have forced me to appreciate life, and shaped me to always think of others and be someone people could look up to.

The innovation industry is an exciting world to work in because it has so much potential to make people’s lives easier and better.

Hack.Diversity provides me with an exceptional opportunity to gain access to fuel my interest. I am making extensive connections with various individuals, acquiring new skills, engaging in professional settings, and landing my first internship! My dream job is to be a software engineer, and I’m grateful that Hack.Diversity encourages minorities to challenge themselves and take on responsibilities on our path to finding the right jobs in the tech industry.

Internship matches will be announced May 2018. Stay tuned!

Support, Website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.