Cohort Stories: Meet Nehemiah

NYC: vol. 2, no. 12 — guest post by Nehemiah Henry

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 11, 2024

--

Nehemiah Henry smiles at the camera.
Nehemiah Henry, 2024 Hack.Diversity Fellow

In August 2020, I began my journey as a programmer by attending Howard University, majoring in Computer Science. Ultimately, I wasn’t sure if college was the right option, so I withdrew in November 2021. After taking time off from school and working for about a year, I began studying at Flatiron School’s Software Engineering Bootcamp in February of 2023. I graduated in June of the same year, and have been working independently as an engineer since then while applying for relevant jobs.

I am excited by both the challenges technology can pose to those of us who work with it and how solving those challenges can allow us to progress as a society. I am also passionate about using technology to further the arts and entertainment.

I am motivated by the potential to further my career. I plan to build my portfolio and experience while working with web technology before pivoting to work in the gaming industry later in my career. I am also motivated by a desire to eventually make that industry into a better environment for everyone since it is in a very unhealthy state right now.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.