Cohort Stories: Meet Pedro

vol. 6, no. 102—guest post by Pedro Gutiérrez Rincón

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 1, 2022

--

Pedro Gutiérrez Rincón, Computer Information Systems student at Northern Essex Community College & 2022 Fellow

In my journey with Hack.Diversity, I wish to be able to find a job in the general area of software engineering and to gain experience in that field.

I wish to practice and harness experience coding with different programming languages and solve real-world problems.

I have always been a very abstract person. I think Software is the perfect way for humans to merge language and pure math to express things that otherwise were impossible or very limited in any other medium, and the ability to abstract all those aspects away and leave the relevant ideas as an interface for all to interact with is fascinating to me.

I don’t think people realize the kind of miracle it is to see and interact with what you’re currently seeing on your screen right now.

My family immigrated from Mexico when I was 17. I’m the son of a tail mason and none of my parents stepped on a High School before. Finishing the 9th grade was even an oddity where they grew up. Being a child with ADHD, my early education was a challenge and so for a while, it looked like my path was going to be similar to my parents. I didn’t want that. I wanted to go to college and get a job in the tech field, I always felt morally obligated.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.