Cohort Stories: Meet Rachelle

NYC: vol. 2, no. 14 — guest post by Rachelle Burgos

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 11, 2024

--

Rachelle Burgos smiles at the camera.
Rachelle Burgos, 2024 Hack.Diversity Fellow

Throughout my first few years at Hunter College, I struggled with my computer science curriculum. At first, I had a limited view of the subject, believing that computer science was all about programming. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Up until that point, my only exposure to the area was at the surface level. As I dove deeper into the field, however, I soon discovered that computer science is a rich and exciting field that is continuously evolving.

The initial challenges I faced transformed into valuable learning experiences, pushing me to develop a holistic approach to problem-solving and a more profound appreciation for the theoretical underpinnings of technology.

Before joining Hack, I secured my first internship at JPMorgan Chase in my junior year of college. This experience was a pivotal moment in my journey. Not only did I gain hands-on experience writing production-level code, but it also significantly bolstered my confidence in all the skills I had learned throughout the years.

I first became interested in programming at a young age, around eight years old, when I started experimenting with writing small JavaScript scripts. As I progressed through middle and high school, my teachers consistently attempted to steer me toward a career in art or English. However, I was stubborn about continuing to learn more about computers and programming. Since my high school didn’t have any computer science courses, I took the initiative to seek opportunities to learn more. At sixteen years old, I joined the Girls Who Code Summer Immersion program. There, I learned the fundamental building blocks of coding, including loops, functions, and if statements. I also learned a few things about web development and robotics. The skills and insights acquired during this program didn’t just end there; they evolved into a foundational bedrock, propelling me forward and serving as an instrumental catalyst for my ongoing academic and professional achievements.

In essence, my excitement about technology stems from its transformative power, its constant evolution, and the endless opportunities it presents for learning and collaboration. As I continue my journey, I am eager to explore new horizons, embrace emerging technologies, and contribute to the exciting advancements that lie ahead.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.