Cohort Stories: Meet Robert

vol. 5, no. 76 — guest post by Robert Diaz

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
3 min readJan 21, 2021

--

Robert Diaz, computer science graduate from Suffolk University & 2021 Fellow

I have always been fascinated with technology and aspired to work in the technology field. My family immigrated to the United States from the Dominican Republic when I was seven. I did not speak any English, which was a huge obstacle when I started going to school here. My parents worked very hard to enable me to pursue my education and do well, so that I could get scholarships and apply to college. My family has always been very important to me, they are my primary support system, and I have spent a lot of time helping them out while growing up. I have worked very hard to be able to get a college degree, which I am very proud of. During my time in college, I always did my best to pass the classes I took and to get good grades. I dedicated myself to pursuing my degree because I knew it would open many opportunities for me. I am a first-generation college graduate, something of which my family and I are very proud.

Being successful in the tech industry would mean to work for a company or organization that allows me to continue to grow and be my best self. I also think that success includes building relationships with employers, coworkers, and supervisors to create a collaborative network that also contributes to my growth.

Being successful in the tech industry has always been my dream. I would love to work for a company that works for the greater good and helps people, which is something I really want to contribute to. I would like to be part of something greater than myself and give back by helping others. I’m always eager to learn, so for me that means that I am always looking to learn something new and broaden my horizon. Being successful in the tech industry would mean to work for a company or organization that allows me to continue to grow and be my best self. I also think that success includes building relationships with employers, coworkers, and supervisors to create a collaborative network that also contributes to my growth. Something I love about the tech industry is that it is such a collaborative environment. You work in teams, which is something I consider important to success.

I’m definitely motivated by my family and social support system. I know that they are always here for me and that I always have their support. Making them proud is very important to me because they played such a big role in my ability to go to college and pursue a Computer Science degree. I’m really ambitious and driven by reaching goals. I motivate myself by thinking about the end result which allows me to achieve my goals. Even if I am working on a big project, I always have little goals set for myself that I can meet. This motivates me to do my best for all parts of the project and ultimately achieve the end result. Something that also motivates me is helping others, which is why I would like to work for a company that works for the greater good. I like to help people and knowing that my work will be useful to others drives me.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.