Cohort Stories: Meet Silvio

vol. 4, no. 63 — guest post by Silvio Pina

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 5, 2020

--

Silvio Pina, programming student at Quincy College & 2020 Fellow

As a kid I always was curious about technology. The passion started from playing video games and wanting to know how electronics function. As a 10-year-old, I became obsessed with the PlayStation Portable (PSP) that I received as a Christmas present. I loved the idea that I could hack my PSP in order to get all the games for free. At that time, I became intrigued by wanting to explore more. Although, I developed many curiosities, I was not sure what path I wanted to take in this massive everlasting tech industry. At the age of 17, a cousin of mine who is a System Administrator, sparked my interest when he told me all about the fun things that he enjoys doing for work. That is when I decided that I want to pursue a career in the tech industry.

After high school graduation, I started a job in a computer and electronics store. At this time, I had very little understanding about computers and other hardware components. If you were to ask me what an external hard drive was, I would have no idea of what you were talking about. This work environment was great. I gained so much knowledge from how to build a computer, to learn about the Arduino and Raspberry Pi, and even more on the business aspect of technology. The experiences helped me attain a more depth understanding of what I wanted to pursue when I went back to school.

Prior to attending college, I wanted to be a computer network professional. However, there was a shift in my career path during the first semester at Quincy College. I was fascinated when I developed my first programming application using the C language that prints on the screen, the infamous, “Hello World”. Ever since then, I fell in love with programming, and wanted to learn more. I believe that within this industry your imagination and creativity can be implemented in such way that it can be impactful to many. I’m thrilled to be part of Hack.Diversity due to the tremendous support and resources provided in order to help a person achieve their goals.

I look forward to being able to meet others who share the same interest in an environment where I feel I belong.

My dream job is to one day work at a FAANG company. I definitely look forward to enhance both my technical and interview skills during the times spent with Hack.Diversity in order to be job ready.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.