Cohort Stories: Meet Trevor

vol. 4, no. 61 — guest post by Trevor Kiwumulo

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 5, 2020

--

Trevor Kiwumulo, computer science student at Framingham State University & 2020 Fellow

I became interested in technology very late due to limited exposure growing up. I remember my first time using a computer was the first year of high school. That feeling was very exciting, and I fell in love with it. My family was always pushing me to go for a more basic career like business, law or medicine but I didn’t see any excitement in any of those. I wanted to try something no one else had ever tried in my family because I enjoy challenging myself. Getting to where I am now was not easy. First, coming from a third-world country, the opportunities seemed very slim in the future, let alone the fact that I could not afford a computer. Coming to the United States opened a lot of doors for me. My curiosity with learning helped me gain a lot of experience in many areas of technology, and each day is another opportunity to learn and expand my knowledge.

I was introduced to Hack.Diversity in 2019. I saw an opportunity to help me explore my potential.

Joining Hack.Diversity was the best thing to ever happen to me because I believe they have answers to all my questions like what I’m I going to do when I’m done with school? Am I even ready? How do I prepare for a career? Having a sense of hope means a lot for me, because where I come from, hope is not offered on every street corner. That’s what excited me about joining Hack.Diversity. I am motivated by seeing the success of other people of color. It gives me hope that I can also get there if I work hard. I hope to take advantage of every opportunity Hack.Diversity has in store for me toward my journey to becoming a successful Information Systems analyst. And I will give my full service to Hack.Diversity program to help my colleagues reach to another step in their professional life.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.