Cohort Stories: Meet Vladimir

vol. 3, no. 10 — guest post by Vladimir Ventura

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 14, 2019

--

Vladimir Ventura, computer science major at Northern Essex Community College & 2019 Fellow

I would say that I started becoming interested in technology when I was around the age of five. My dad would let me help him build computers and take me to his networking projects where we would set up the wiring, switches, and server rooms of several companies. When I learned about Hack.Diversity, I wanted to have a bare minimum of programming and socializing skills before filling out the application. I just didn’t want to go somewhere and feel completely lost.

My family immigrated to the United States from the Dominican Republic, and started from scratch. Besides adapting to learn a whole new language there hasn’t been a real challenge that has made me think about quitting the path I’m on. What motivates me the most is other people’s achievements.

I want to be a renowned programmer someday. If others who started out like me can do it, why can’t I do it as well?

The industry is always evolving. There’s always something new to see, or learn. It never stops, stalls, or goes backwards. That’s something that keeps me excited about it. My current dream goal is to be able to help develop an Android build. When I first heard about Hack.Diversity I figured it’ll be the perfect spot to gain some field work experience in my area. An ideal outcome would be getting a job. That would definitively give me a boost in the right direction.

Inspired to join the movement?

Consider mentoring Hack.Diversity 2019.

Support, Website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.