Cohort Stories: Meet Waliyat

Boston: vol. 8, no. 81— guest post by Waliyat Afolabi

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 2, 2024

--

Waliyat Afolabi smiles at the camera.
Waliyat Afolabi, 2024 Hack.Diversity Fellow

My journey to Hack.Diversity began with a profound interest in leveraging technology to address real-world challenges. I have been deeply immersed in the world of Computer science for a few years now. My journey began with my curiosity about technology and its capacity to solve complex problems. What truly captivates me about this field is its constant development, which challenges me to stay adaptable and innovative.

What excites me most about technology is its transformative power and limitless potential to innovate. The dynamic nature of technology ensures that there’s always something new to explore, discover, and create. I’m fascinated by the constant evolution of algorithms, programming languages, and frameworks, which opens up opportunities for solving complex problems and optimizing processes. I have committed to having a positive mindset and moving forward to earn my place in the tech industry.

I am motivated by the idea of having a career in the tech industry as a software security engineer and the potential to contribute to the development of innovative solutions that can improve people’s lives.

Through harnessing technology’s potential to break barriers, I aspire to be part of its transformative impact.

Participating in Hack.Diversity is a crucial step towards achieving my career goals in the tech industry. This opportunity will enable me to gain practical experience in coding and project development beyond the academic realm, providing a real-world understanding of industry demands. Establishing lasting connections with peers is invaluable for future collaborations and professional growth. Additionally, the program offers a platform to assess my current skills, guiding me in areas that require further effort for success in future roles. By immersing myself in this environment, I aim to solidify my knowledge of developmental tools, upskill effectively, and design my life beyond college while contributing to technology’s transformative impact. My ultimate goal is to make a meaningful contribution to the tech sector and not disappoint those who believe in my potential. As a student, I strongly believe personal success is closely tied to direction and goals. I see Hack Diversity as an opportunity to cultivate a well-rounded skill set.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.