Cohort Stories: Meet Wesley

NYC: vol. 2, no. 16 — guest post by Wesley Nabo

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 11, 2024

--

Wesley Nabo, 2024 Hack.Diversity Fellow

The most important milestone in my journey was deciding to pursue computer science in high school. Around that time, my entire family was involved in pharmacy and while medicine didn’t appeal to me, I struggled to select a path that would allow me to harness my love for computers and puzzle games into a professional setting. When I discovered what computer science was, I took the time to immerse myself in the expectations and prospective impact of this job on my future and decided that technology was the direction I wanted to take my life in. From this, I picked a university that focused on this field, grew my networks for friends and professional connections, and dedicated time to an organization that is committed to a mission I seriously empathize with: ensuring the success of Black and Latinx folks in the technology field.

What excites me with technology is not only the infinite applications of tech but also the multitude of areas that tech is applying to. The possibilities of technology are far too many to count, thanks to the inquisitiveness of humankind and the life-changing potential of tech. With there being no limit of technology except one’s imagination and willpower, it then begs the question of where this unstoppable idea can be applied to become effective. This begets the most exciting part of utilizing technology: integrating technology into nearly every part of our lives. Despite the everlasting notion that technology will take over humanity, we never question whether to increase how much we rely on technology in our lives. From medicine, to transportation, to education, to our society as a whole, our advancements in technology can be applied help us to excel in all aspects of our daily life

Being a first generation Nigerian American, I had parents who were committed to giving their all to ensure I can succeed with a professional career. Meaning, the expectations of my parents fueled me to push hard in class and reassure them of decent marks, this validating their hard efforts for my success. To me, those efforts never went unnoticed, and I could always feel the faith they put into me as their kid. The more I’ve grown, the more I’ve really appreciated how earnestly they took the approach of focusing my attention to academics, as this focus developed into a love for problem-solving and planning for my future.

Seeing their efforts really motivates me because I’m breathing proof of their sacrifices paying off in the end, and that success inspires me to continue excelling and ensuring their hard work mattered at the end of the day.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.