Cohort Stories: Meet Willy

vol. 4, no. 67 — guest post by Willy Leroy

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 5, 2020

--

Willy Leroy, cyber security student at Quincy College & 2020 Fellow

When I entered the building for my interview with Hack.Diversity, it was a journey of encouragement for me to move forward in the computer science field. The way Hack made me feel demonstrated that if I had found this program a few years ago, I would have already been farther along in my career.

I have always had a passion for playing with computers. When I finished with high school, I started taking classes with Cisco CCNA, CCNA Security and Cyber Ops but did not really know the good news behind Computer Science until I met one person. When working with Verizon, I met one of the tech support representatives and had a conversation with him about computer science. Since then, I have known that this is my dream and where I need to be. My personal excitement about the innovation industry comes from the idea that there will always be opportunity for new positions and growth.

My interest started with Hack Diversity while I was in class at Quincy College. Three of wonderful alumni from Hack Diversity came to present about the program. The way they approached and explained where they came from and where they are now with the help of Hack.Diversity really inspired me. I have always dreamed of working with cyber security, and being the part of Hack.Diversity will guide me to the destination of my dream job. I envision my time in the Cohort as time well spent and time that surely will guide me to my destination.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.