Cohort Stories: Meet Yasmin

vol. 6, no. 128 — guest post by Yasmin Afifi

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 1, 2022

--

Yasmin Afifi, computer science student at Wellesley College & 2022 Fellow

From a young age, I realized I would thrive in situations where I could be creative and problem-solve. Early on, my favorite classes were math and art until I discovered that I could use the same analytical skills to create artwork and games on a computer. Using programs such as Scratch to make stories and games, I learned that I could build up complex ideas from the same simple starting blocks. To me, it evoked the same feelings as solving logic puzzles and riddles — the satisfaction of finally making all of the pieces fit just right.

At the same time, I grew passionate about international development. As an Egyptian-American, I had naturally grown this sense of curiosity about the world beyond my little bubble in it. I loved documentaries and felt that they taught me more about the world and different cultures. Later on, I found myself continuously researching current global affairs for my Speech and Debate teams in high school, and once I arrived at Wellesley, these passions grew further. There I eventually found myself between a deep curiosity in international political economics and the intersection of computer science and design that I had always explored. I also gained a love for photography and explored its technical, artistic, and human elements.

So far in my journey, I have learned that I am most excited by human-centered projects that combine international development, creativity, and technology. I also have learned that I consider my empathy, energy, and global mindset to be my most valuable strengths. With these skills and passions, I found my mission in continuing to create and problem-solve with cameras, code, and people.

What excites me the most about technology is how it makes me feel like I am an artist with a blank canvas and the paints to make every possibility into a reality. Not only do these endless possibilities excite me, but so does technology’s potential to uplift and give unprecedented tools and access to resources to almost anyone in the world. This sense of connectivity and shared power is what motivates me to push for a better future for all of us. I see technology as playing a fundamental role in that future whether it is to share resources or distribute documentaries. I’m motivated and excited by a future where I can use my passions and skills to ultimately influence, empower, and connect people across geographic limits.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.