Cohort Stories: Meet Yassmine

vol. 5, no. 92 — guest post by Yassmine Idalene

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

--

When I made the choice to come to the USA and prepared for immigration, I finally had a job in my country in the company of my dreams. So I was stuck in making a choice to come here, leave my country, and study to have strong bases, or just be a coder in that company with an old technology that is not used in many countries anymore. I had to make a decision. Finally, I just had a clear vision of what I wanted and didn’t hesitate to begin from scratch again, even though everyone I knew had already begun to build their own careers. So I put my ego aside to pursue bigger dreams and possibilities, and now I am so happy to be part of this journey that is going to allow progress and learn more about the real world of computer science.

I think in order to be successful in the tech industry, you have to have patience. Being patient to learn, practice, and giving yourself time to internalize what you’ve learned; understanding that everything seems broad and hard in the beginning but eventually makes sense when you put in the work and the effort.

I believe that being resilient, flexible, and open to changes is also very important because we all know that the technologies that we work with may not exist tomorrow.

Another important component to success in the tech industry is being able to challenge and push yourself and discover new capabilities; because without challenges, people can not improve themselves.

The most complicated thing for someone looking for a job in their field of expertise, is their first experience. Getting the first experience may be very challenging for everyone as it requires a lot of research and patience for the person just to have that call for interviews, and that is something that we do not learn in school.

The thing that I like the most about Hack.Diversity is the fact that it ensures that it fills the gap that we may have in soft skills and gives us what we need to excel in the tech industry.

It is a program that strengthens our weaknesses and makes us better fits to companies. I also value the fact that I have the chance to meet motivated people with different backgrounds and different cultures which provide us with a very rich experience before even getting to the internship.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.