Cohort Stories: Meet Paloma

NYC: vol. 2, no. 13 — guest post by Paloma Almonte

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement
2 min readFeb 11, 2024

--

Paloma Almonte smiles at the camera.
Paloma Almonte, 2024 Hack.Diversity Fellow

Growing up in a vibrant, culturally rich community, I learned the importance of diversity, resilience, and community support. These values have been crucial milestones in my journey to Hack.Diversity, guiding my passion for technology and my commitment to inclusivity. My Latina background has not only provided me with a unique lens through which to view technology but also a strong sense of responsibility to give back to my community. I take great pride in my diverse background, which has shaped my perspective and approach to problem-solving. My journey to Hack.Diversity is paved with significant achievements, such as leading tech initiatives in my college’s engineering club and volunteering in community tech projects. These experiences have not only honed my technical skills but also underscored the importance of diversity in fostering innovation.

The exact moment my interest in technology transformed into a passion and career was at a family gathering. My cousin, also navigating the challenging waters of AP Computer Science, was deeply ensnared in a complex coding project. It was a puzzle I had recently wrestled with in my own studies. As we joined forces, the atmosphere was charged with intensity and focus. Each of us brought our unique insights to the table, unraveling the coding problem piece by piece. The moment we cracked it, the sense of triumph was palpable. The experience transcended mere problem-solving, it was a profound journey of shared discovery and learning in the vast ocean of computer science. This collaboration marked a pivotal chapter in my life, turning a simmering interest into what I will be doing for the rest of my life and unveiling the true essence of coding: a powerful tool for connection, innovation, and societal advancement. The endless possibilities of coding and the impact of technology in simplifying complex problems captivated me. What excites me most is the potential of technology to drive change and create solutions that benefit society.

My motivation stems from a desire to innovate and make a difference through technology.

Participating in Hack.Diversity is a crucial step toward achieving my career goals. I see it as an opportunity to enhance my technical skills, gain industry insights, and be part of a community that values diversity. This experience will be instrumental in my pursuit of a career in software engineering, where I aim to contribute to projects that are not only technologically advanced but also socially impactful.

--

--

Hack.Diversity
The Hack.Diversity Movement

Hack.Diversity is on a mission to transform the economy by breaking down barriers for Black and Latine/x professionals in tech.