MY HACKBIO EXPERIENCE

Hildred Adebayo
HackBio
Published in
2 min readSep 5, 2020

WHO AM I?

I am Adebayo Oluwatobiloba Hildred, from Nigeria. I have a bachelor’s degree in Physiology from the University of Ilorin, Nigeria. Currently, I am taking a master's degree in Cell biology and genetics at the University of Lagos, Nigeria.

MY JOURNEY TO COMPUTATIONAL BIOLOGY

Growing up, I used to sniff around, looking for my mother’s anatomy books.

She always hid them because she thought a 9-year-old didn’t need all that information. My fascination, however, was unending and I wanted to know the ‘why’ behind the development of all these body systems.

A degree in physiology exposed me to the mechanisms of action of body systems and revealed the little wonders in As, Ts, Cs, and Gs! DNA!!

Oh as rightly guessed, my curiosity level shot up and I wanted to see these power molecules in action. As I worked in an embryology laboratory, the self-driven DNA made babies before my very eyes and it dawned on me, I needed to know more.

Bioinformatics became my focus and I started to read texts, learning to code, taking online webinars and after 3 months, I craved real-life bioinformatics experience.

Hackbio came along, just in time and I knew this was my shot!

MY AMAZING EXPERIENCE

I want to start by saying, I miss this experience already as it approaches its end. My experience on hackbio has transformed me professionally, as well as personally in such a short period (I can only imagine if it lasted longer).

Hackbio made me realize just how flexible and interesting science can be. I have really benefited from learning how to collaborate virtually with teammates across the world on platforms like Github, and Google Drive. This has improved my team spirit tremendously and taught me to maximize the strengths of every member of a team.

I have also been exposed to various software such as MAFFT, MUSCLE, BLAST, IQTREE, web servers such as GALAXY, EMBOSS, databases such as GISAID, GENBANK and have strengthened my python and bash scripting knowledge.

I am grateful for my experience and growth and cannot wait to begin to largely impact the scientific community.

THANK YOU SCIENCE! THANK YOU HACKBIO!

Slack username: @Hildred

LinkedIn:https://www.linkedin.com/in/oluwatobiloba-adebayo-86795013b/

--

--