Armada: Straight out of a Video Game

Avi Gupta
hackerLog
Published in
3 min readNov 3, 2018

“You’re welcome.”
said by RedJive from Armada by Ernest Cline

Finding good science fiction these days has been hard.

Finding good science fiction books these days has been even harder.

Finding good science fiction books about video games these days has been the hardest of them all.

You get the idea, right?

Well, Armada by Ernest Cline meets all of those needs.

The storyline was intriguing when I had just started to read it. I mean, a flying saucer? C’mon, that did seem like a hallucination.

I don’t really wanna spoil the book, so i’m going to just tell how I felt about it.

For starters, I think that the storyline was good for any sci-fi fanatic. It perfectly described things about alien invasions, video games, and futuristic tech. Those are all key elements of a sci-fi book. But it isn’t just that. The writing was humorous and pretty relatable for all of those hardcore gamers. I could relate to it easily, since it was a book about playing video games IRL. I would love for that to happen, but it could cause mass destruction. So I’ll stick with a racing game for that situation.

A screenshot from armada on the Sega Dreamcast. Developed by Metro3D, Inc.

When I read the book, I’m surprised that the main character actually agreed to join the organization that was fighting against an alien species that could possibly kill him. I would flee and just go home, waiting safely with my family. At least I’d be with them. Also, the game itself seems scary enough to even just happen. It’s a shooter game that happens in flight. So the second worst thing besides your plane getting blown up is that you fall out and get shot by the enemy without any protection. If I wanted any video game to come to life, I would probably choose Forza Motorsport 7. It’s realistic, so if you were to put it into real life, it would probably not kill you.

The main character has other problems besides that. He has problems controlling his psychopathic anger and seems to let it out on just one person. But he prefers to use his muscle as his choice of weapon instead of his mouth. Long story short: anger is brawn over brains. Instead of thinking about what he’s going to do with his anger, he just rages and punches and hits and does anything physically harmful to anyone else.

I think that he should just let off some steam, and then just calm down. Overall, authors should make better role models for young readers.

I think that they might be using video games to train us like in this book. There’s crazy racing, flying, shooting, building, survival, and puzzles in a lot of games. They might be using that to prepare us for a bigger event. Like how Armada prepared people for a real alien invasion which actually happened.

A shot from Armada Online, which allows you to play armada on the internet.

To be honest, it was the book that I didn’t know that I had been searching all over for in a long time. So when I read it, It just… opened me up to this whole new world of this… perfect fantasy of all of these things that I love.

Overall, it was the first book that I could truly connect to in real life even though the situation didn’t really happen in real life.

--

--

Avi Gupta
hackerLog

Named after the first 2 games I got on my xBox, Forza and Minecraft. Also, i have a blog. Real name is Avi.