A Note from Home…

Shellie Schwanke
1 min readJan 29, 2016

--

Inspiring Choices

A few days ago I was attending an educational travel conference and was getting ready to duck out of the closing session in order to get an earlier start home. I was compelled to stay, though, as I happened across a beautiful young Indian woman who intrigued me and, little did I know, was the closing conference keynote. Sheena Iyengar, a professor from Columbia University was led to the stage with her white cane and when she started to speak, her beautiful accent and elegant presentation was the first indicator that I had made a good choice. Sheena inspired me with her research, words and inspiring take-away that choice is my tool for creating possibilities. Indecision stagnates. Choice creates. Sheena’s choices appeared limited by her blindness, but her decision to work through her challenges and use it to inspire others has enriched her life and had a great impact on others.

What are you choosing today? Your choices on life’s journey today can create possibilities for your future and become an inspiration to those around you, a good thought as we journey together through 2016. It is my hope that you will choose to share your time, talent and treasure with your alma mater. Your choice to remain active in the Eureka College community will have life enriching benefits. I can testify to that.

Shellie Schwanke

Eureka College Director of Alumni Relations — Class of ‘87

--

--