How Art and Entrepreneurship can Change the World

Sofya Abramchuk
4 min readJan 28, 2016

--

My space castles that became a tribute to everything I believe in the universe, the world, humans, and that nothing is impossible

I don’t what is wrong with me, but I always wanted to change this world. I want it to be a better place for my kids and family. I want to see it flourish, I want to show and experience its beauty. And I want others to follow the lead and be creators themselves.

Crazy huh? I’ve just put my whole life’s resolution out there. I finally did it. It is as if I signed up a contract with the universe where I am obliged to succeed in my mission. Whatever I do, I am going to make this place a better home for all of us.
Recently, reading the 10x Rulebook by Grant Cardone I confirmed to myself my old observation that only with wanting to do something, you can’t achieve anything. Really. It’s all about actions, obsession, passion and perseverance. And all of this multiplied by 10 times. This is a crazy theory, but I found out it does work! Well, I’m still trying to make it work, but at least I am doing something. This is why I am writing this post right now, building a product that will revolutionise agriculture and the aid system, and create unique and special artwork that I love. Without this extra motivation, I wouldn’t have realised that I can actually do things to gain money, but also create, change and achieve things. But don’t forget to fail- or how he calls it- achieving results.

That’s the painting I am talking about

That’s the painting I am talking about how art and entrepreneurship can change the world? It is very simple. All artists make mistakes. We are the people who actually do stuff. We always fail. We always start over. We are also crazy, obsessed, weird and passionate about what we do. Who on earth would stand on her knees for 8 hours in a row smelling all that oil paints and dilutants to finally realise what she was doing is only 1/4 of the whole painting and half of it has to be re-done because it doesn’t feel right? Yeah, that’s me. What this experience taught me is that it is such a joy to create something. To be achieved, even though it is not what you expected. The most beautiful thing about it is that the whole universe will be helping you to become better, to succeed. You just have to try one more time.

This is why I believe that every business student, entrepreneur or an aspiring CEO should take at least several art classes. Why not? See, even taking those classes is an action towards becoming better. Because producing something with your own hands without being judged, told off or show it to your client, will let you feel like anything is possible. This is what we artists know- it really is! When creating a new product, try and iterate, repeat, do it all over again. Even if you don’t like it, try doing it again, and I am 150% sure it will be better than the last time. Just do it. Trying to become the best in your profession? Do something again, and again, and again. With all of your heart, soul and desire. Do it because you want to dominate, you want to be fearless and able to do anything. And I can assure you when you do it one more time, you will be all of those things. The universe will be helping you, pulling you into a black hole of achievements and success.

A little bit about myself. I decided to start writing because I love to write, but also because I am an artist and an entrepreneur. You just need to write well nowadays. I also think that I can share many interesting things with people, motivate and inspire others. At least, I will try to do so. I had studied architecture for a year and a half but realised that it is not going to be my future, so I switched to Business Administration degree where at least I will be prepared a little bit for running my business. Since I’ve switched, I am realising many things about myself, growing and trying to become better, personally and professionally. It is very hard, and anyone who is trying to become better- I feel your pain, but it is worth it! The most difficult part is doing doing doing something, doing it well and till you reach your final limit, exhaustion. I am happier now, I am full and whole, and I am busier than when I didn’t sleep at night working on non-stopping projects that almost killed my inner creativity.

--

--

Sofya Abramchuk

Entrepreneur, artist and innovator. Co-founder at Gaudi Inspired #TEDx_Speaker