More info, less inteligence

Hugo Sandoval
3 min readJan 26, 2016

--

We have so many information thanks to Internet (sometimes even too much), but no one really cares about it or, to put in more humanly way: we don’t want to spend time reading and trying to understand what the other people want to tell.

More and more are getting glued to Internet using smartphones, tablets or even smartwatches always connected to the network, actually I want to write a small story that happened to me yesterday after work: I was waiting for my bus to go home and I saw a girl actually younger than me holding a 7'’ Samsung tablet using 3G data on it, I was behind her (not intentionally, she put herself there) so I could see perfectly her screen: she was checking Facebook and seeing photos of her contacts and using the tablet like a mirror to fix her hair.

Technology is around us, but we never use in the most convenient way, we have everything in our hands to use that information to learn new things, take advice from others, take ideas for new projects, some of the people are doing that of course, but, what percentage of people using internet in the whole world?

Facebook is a good idea but at same time also the worst one… makes people lazy, only seeing things to pass the time but nothing really conclusive, receiving hundred of noisy petitions to receive free gifts from some irreverent games, but at same time, we never consider so lonely as we’re. One of my bosses, that is 10 years older than me, has some teenager son that has really big problems to communicate with others of his age because he doesn’t wants to go outside to met new people, only talks with his friends by phone (messaging using Whatsapp) or by voice while he plays in internet, and that’s not the only case.

People in the past with less materials and knowledge created the world we’re living right now, I really enjoy being in Internet in my daily routine, but always trying to obtain something new every single day, for example, write here in Medium helps me a lot to express my ideas in a different language, read from different sources and topics to get a general idea how the world is moving, but sometimes is hard to receive some other opinions when people around you don’t know anything about it.

Also, more contacts you have in social networks, less people do you usually talks to, everything is connected, but as I read here in Medium, it’s also curious that more and more people wants to travel alone (I did that too in the past, 2 times), are relationships evolving to be more independent people compared to the past, when we need more and more people around us to feel us satisfied and happy? Are we too tired to listen about the same topics over and over?

--

--