Preparing for my first day as a U.S. citizen

Bernd Verst
HackerNoon.com
Published in
1 min readFeb 1, 2017

--

In this day and age it is more important than ever that we fully participate in the democratic process. After more than a decade in the United States I am finally gaining these important rights which so many of us have taken for granted.

On February 8, 2017 I will become a citizen of the United States. Here are the things I plan to do on my first day as a citizen:

Stay informed and speak up. Govtrack.us is a great resource for following all legislative activity in congress (e.g. introduction of new bills). Read information from the source to avoid special interest and media influencing your opinion through misrepresentation.

I’m proud to have served the country as a permanent resident (“Green Card” holder) during my time at 18F. I’m incredibly proud to soon become a citizen and be able to exercise my new rights.

Please join me in exercising these citizen rights, together.

Hacker Noon is how hackers start their afternoons. We’re a part of the @AMIfamily. We are now accepting submissions and happy to discuss advertising &sponsorship opportunities.

To learn more, read our about page, like/message us on Facebook, or simply, tweet/DM @HackerNoon.

If you enjoyed this story, we recommend reading our latest tech stories and trending tech stories. Until next time, don’t take the realities of the world for granted!

--

--

Bernd Verst
HackerNoon.com

Developer Advocate @microsoft @azure. @18F (cloud.gov), @twitter, @siftscience, @googlecloud (@google) , @macalester alum.